ABC #7 Not My Enemy

ABC #7 Not My Enemy



Edition Size



Letterpress, Offset print




Artist Book


9.25 × 6.25 in


Booklyn, Inc.

$ 15.00


View Collectors

Chapman University

Sacramento Public Library

The National Poetry Library, UK

Trinity College

University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB)

University of Washington Libraries

Wesleyan University, Olin Library

‘It is hard to fit into a life where everyone around me has no understanding that I lived my life for a year in a place where every decision I made either killed someone or saved someone. I hope that in time we as veterans will find a way to bring our experience from war into society so our children will know the truth: War makes monsters of us all.’ — Mark ‘Gordie’ Lachance, War Makes Monsters of Us All

The seventh chapbook in Booklyn’s series, Not My Enemy exposes the realities of war through hard-hitting stories and poems by the Iraq War Veterans writing collective, the Warrior Writers. The collection is a rare glimpse into the hearts and thoughts of veterans trying to re-build their experiences and make sense out of the madness of war. This book highlights a variety of writing from over 20 Warrior Writers from across the U.S.

Iraq Veterans Against the War (IVAW) includes recent veterans and active duty servicemen and women from all branches of military service who have served in the United States military since September 11, 2001. IVAW was founded to give a voice to the large number of active duty service people and veterans who are against the war. Members educate the public about the realities of the Iraq war by speaking in communities and to the media about their experiences. Members also dialogue with youth in classrooms about the real-life experience of military service.

Through writing and artistic workshops, the IVAW Warrior Writers Project provides tools and space for community building, healing, and self-discovery for members of Iraq Veterans Against the War.

Contributing Warrior Writers: Lovella Calica (Director & Editor), Drew Cameron, Toby Hartbarger, Sholom Keller, Aaron Hughes, Justin Cliburn, Mark Wilkerson, Eli Wright, Fernando & Maria Braga, Jon Turner, Phil Aliff, Cloy Richards, Matt Howard, Vince Emanuele, Mike Blake, Paul Abernathy, Mark Lachance, Garett Reppenhagen, Sara Wallace, Nathan Lewis, Hart Viges, Jared Hood, Jeff Key.

Cover Photo by Garett Reppenhagen
Interior design by Felice Tebbe
Series II design by Stacy Wakefield Forte, based on the original ABC Series.
Letterpress cover, offset interior. 6.25×9.25.” Numbered edition of 1000. 2008.